Why no gelatin?

Gelatin is a protein substance that has been used in many culinary applications where a jelly-like texture is desirable. It is obtained by boiling animal skin, cartilage, and bones for extended periods.

While we acknowledge that gelatin is produced primarily from meat industry by-products, a growing number of people seek to avoid supporting animal-based food industries in any form, and/or to avoid taking products of those industries into their body.

We therefore offer alternatives to products that have traditionally been made with gelatin.

What alternative ingredients do you use?

There are several known gelatin substitute that can be used to create vegan-friendly jellies, mousse, ice cream, sugar-free jams, cheesecake and more. The ingredient used in a particular recipe depends on the desired textural outcome.

Agar agar is obtained from a type of algae.

Aquafaba is the cooking water from beans (typically chickpeas).

Carrageenan is made from components of Irish moss seaweed.

Pectin is derived from plants – it’s the substance that gives structure to the cell walls in fruits and vegetable matter.

Ready-made vegal gel powders are mixtures, available from many health food stores, of substances such as vegetable gum, adipic acid, tapioca dextrin, calcium phosphate and potassium citrate.

What is your favourite sweet?

Milk (mylk) bottles!